Bookshelf spotlight: The Riftwar Saga

(and Krondor’s Sons)

This is the first of three posts in which I’m not sure what order I started each of the series. What can I say, 1993-4 was prime reading time for me where I started (and finished) so many fantasy series.

On one of my father’s work trips to the US, he picked me up the complete Riftwar Saga by Raymond E Feist. It’s the best gift I ever got from either of my parents.

I loved this series, devouring it quickly. And I’ve read it a few times since (you can probably tell from the well-loved condition these copies are in). This is the series that cemented my love of Fantasy, and started a few years of it being pretty much the only genre I read (well, there was some Sci-Fi too). It’s been 20 years since my last reread of this series – I’m hoping to revisit it this year, or next at the latest.

As the series title suggests, this is about a war. A war between two worlds. This series is set in Midkemia, on of the warring worlds, and the one being invaded by Kelewan (?). I remember Macros the Black, and an orphan Pug who becomes a powerful magician. Honestly, I have forgotten most of what this series is about. Obviously 20 years has been too long since last visiting this world. So here’s the blurb from the back of Magician: Apprentice.

To the forest on the shore of the Kingdom of the Isles, the orphan called Pug came to study with the master magician Kulgan. But though his courage won him a place at court and the heart of a lovely Princess, he was ill at ease with the normal ways of wizardry.

Yet Pug’s strange sort of magic would one day change forever the fates of two worlds. For dark beings from another world had opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos.

I’m adding Krondor’s Sons to this post even though it is a separate series. And the third series within the Riftwar Cycle. These pick up several years after the end of the Riftwar Saga concludes. I remember almost nothing about these.

Given that these follow on from the Riftwar Saga, I’m not going to put a blurb up. But these are also set in Midkemia.

I can’t remember if I read Krondor’s Sons immediately after the Riftwar Saga, or if I went on to the second series first. Note, series two is actually a side series and can be read independently. So it gets its own post next Friday.

If you haven’t read The Riftwar Saga, you should.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s